Author Topic: Scratch CD's  (Read 2831 times)

Xeniczone

• Kudos: 0
Scratch CD's
« on: 22 March 2006, 04:54 »
Ok, Here is my story.

I was on my gameing computer I was playing battlefeild 2 I was already mad because my team was losing. When my bro. came up and said the game wouldn't work I went into the other room, looked at the screen it said "Please put in a Playstation or Playstation 2 format disk."      I thought he put the disk in backwards again so I ejected the disk and it was in right. I looked at the bottom at the disk and the thing was scratched like crazy!!! there was so many scratches on the bottom you couldn't measure a 1cm difference between them. Pissed off I asked what had happened and who is going to give me the 50 bucks for the disk.

Anyway I started learning that I started looking up on the internet how to fix them I have seen the Disk Doctor and it was 40 bucks i would perfer a new disk. But is there a cheaper way that works !!!NOT TOOTHPASTE IT JUST MAKES IT WORST!!! I start pulling out cleaning solution and consintrated asid on cd-r i scratched on purpose to see what would work.

Bottom line:
How to fix a scratch cd CHEAP?

H_TeXMeX_H

• Kudos: 494
    • http://draconishinobi.50webs.com/
Re: Scratch CD's
« Reply #1 on: 22 March 2006, 05:00 »
Most of the stuff I've tried failed :( Only real way is to prevent scratching ... assuming that is possible. I once saw these protective transparent sieves that would attach to the disk and being transparent the laser could read through the film ... they were rather expensive though ... do they exist ... was I dreaming ... I'm not sure anymore ... I don't know what's real anymore !!!

toadlife

• Kudos: 376
    • http://toadlife.net
« Reply #2 on: 22 March 2006, 07:47 »
Scratched CDs can be fixed if you are willing to put in a significant amount of work on it.

First the ingredients:

1 Scratched CD
 2 Soft cotton cloths - preferably the type you would use for waxing a car
 1 Rotary Polisher (optional)