Author Topic: Rolling Again  (Read 4435 times)

worker201

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 703
    • http://www.triple-bypass.net
Rolling Again
« on: 4 April 2010, 21:26 »
In a fit of crazy, I wiped Windows from my ThinkPad and installed the KDE spin of Fedora 12.  It's been a long time since I've used Linux on a regular basis, and this is my first time using KDE in over 10 years.  So things should be interesting.  My first goal is to get all my development stuff installed, so we'll see how that goes.  First impression - Konqueror is not very pretty.

I'll be making more posts to this thread as I discover fun in Linux.

Aloone_Jonez

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 954
Re: Rolling Again
« Reply #1 on: 4 April 2010, 23:04 »
What spec' is the ThinkPad?

I had one in the early 90s, it was a 486 with 8MB RAM. I got it second hand ans the battery was fucked. I've not owned a laptop for years, the last was a P166 with 32MB of RAM and a 800x600 display which could only do 16-bit high colour. I still have it but the battery is now fucked and there's a couple of lines missing from the display.

I like Fedora, much better than Red Hat 9.

I've not tried KDE recently, I've always gone with XFCE.

I still have an install on my hard drive when I was using an old machine with 256MB RAM so KDE wasn't really an option. Now I have 1GB, maybe when I upgrade to x64 Fedora I'll give KDE ago.

I'll do that after I've installed the new Raptor hard drive which I'm waiting to get a SATA cable for.
« Last Edit: 4 April 2010, 23:06 by Aloone_Jonez »
This is not a Windows help forum, however please do feel free to sign up and agree or disagree with our views on Microsoft.

Oh and FUCKMicrosoft! :fu:

worker201

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: 4 April 2010, 23:38 »
Specs on the Thinkpad:
1.66 GHz Core Duo Yonah T5500
2 GB RAM
Intel 945GM (chosen specifically for Linux compatibility when I first bought the computer years ago)
2 GB 7200 rpm HD
no battery available