Author Topic: NT or Linux internet connection sharing?  (Read 484 times)

badpenny

• Kudos: 0
NT or Linux internet connection sharing?
« on: 25 January 2003, 16:38 »
Ive just thrown a bucket of water over myself to stop any flames hurting too much!  :D  

I have (at the moment) a winxp and Mandrake9 dual boot on my HP pavilion notebook, im only dual booting (into xp) for web access cos the notebook has a damn winmodem which doesnt seem to be supported fully under linux (there is an experimental driver I found but that will be for the future),

Im a noob with linux, and I want to drop xp totally, so my plan is use Mandrake to go through a lan and use internet connection sharing, but I dont know enough about linux to set this up (yet) so should I (can I) set up nt4 server on a spare machine (Dell Dimension 333mhz 512mb ram)to share the connection with Linux so that i can dump xp altogether?

Then when I have learned enough to set up a linux server I will drop nt and go for broke.

I would like to go for broke now and struggle with Linux on both the Notebook and server (Im sure the hardcore will say "go for it you will learn more that way")
But I know that if the learning curve is far too steep initialy and im cut off from the web then I will cave in and go back to the dark side and I REALLY dont want to do that.

Im trying to be practical using the crawl, walk, run then run faster idea

What do you guys think?
Any advice or tips would be gladly recieved
Coming into the light from the dark side,
I can see the light at the end of the tunnel, & its not that far away!  

voidmain

• VIP
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
« Reply #1 on: 25 January 2003, 17:04 »
Mandrake has a tool for this but I don't know how well it works. Or you could do it the manual way similar to Red Hat and the others:

If you will look at the last few messages in this thread you will see where someone else just learned how to do it manually: