Author Topic: Making the transition  (Read 620 times)

IamY

• Kudos: 0
Making the transition
« on: 10 February 2002, 04:31 »
Alright.....I am a Computer Science student, with a couple of years of tech experience....on WinTel type machines....and I WANT OUT.  My primary concerns are programming (I am coming along in C++ pretty well now) and am also immersing myself in web development.  I just built a new PC, AMD T-Bird 1.33, and initially wanted Linux.  I tried installing Red Hat 6.2 (old, I know, but I had the CD), and something went....wrong.  Scowling tremendously, I used a spare copy of 98SE (AAAGGGHHHH) I had sitting around to get this thing up and running.  Now, understand, my eyes are open, and I want OUT of this MS hell.  Someone, please, give me a recommendation as to what OS would best suit my needs and hardware, and I will GLADLY comply.  I do have a cable Internet connection, so size of download is not an issue.  Any ideas are appreciated.

jtpenrod

• VIP
  • Kudos: 105
Making the transition
« Reply #1 on: 10 February 2002, 07:05 »
Your big mistake there was trying to use that old version. The new Mandrake 8.1 or Red Hat 7.2 or the new SuSE (7.3?) are much better. Linux has improved a lot lately in terms of ease of install and use. My own preference is Mandrake, however, I don't think you can go wrong with any of the "Big Three". In addition, the Linux distros come with some really terrific programming aids. A new graphical debugger, the Qt GUI developer, the FOX GUI class library, Tkinter, and others for Python, Perl, Ruby and many others. There's enough there to keep you busy for awhile.  ;)
Live Free or Die: Linux
If software can be free, why can't dolphins?

grumpus

• Kudos: 0
Making the transition
« Reply #2 on: 10 February 2002, 07:22 »