Author Topic: How Apple+Mac is better than Windows+Intel  (Read 3103 times)

voidmain

• VIP
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
How Apple+Mac is better than Windows+Intel
« Reply #30 on: 17 October 2002, 02:07 »
quote:
Originally posted by Zombie9920:
BTW, the Windows being pre-installed wouldn't be a big issue for me even if I did buy an OEM computer because I feel Windows is just the best system to be running right now(I install Windows on systems I build for a living as well as systems I build for myself).

That's fine.... for you. I should not be forced to pay for a Windows license when I will not use it. What's so hard about offering a system with no OS?

quote:

All PC games are made to run in Windows, almost every *popular* graphical, office, video editing, etc. app runs in Windows(Photoshop, Maya, AutoCAD, Microsoft Office, etc.). With Linux you have to rely on Open Source knock offs of the popular apps that try thier best to support the formats of the popular apps but always fall short. With Linux you have to rely on stuff like Wine to play alot of the popular games(Wine does not run most Win32 stuff flawlessly though).

Again, that's fine.... for you. I don't use Windows apps, I don't use Wine (Wine sucks, and not just because it's purpose is to run Windows apps). And I'm perfectly happy rely on those open source apps. I have been for years. I find them to work better and are more reliable than the apps you mention.

quote:
Another reason why alot of OEMs do not choose to use Linux as an OS to pre-install on consumer computers is because Linux is too difficult for most consumers.