Author Topic: Unbelievable...  (Read 571 times)

feetpete

• Kudos: 0
    • http://www.feetmedia.co.uk
Unbelievable...
« on: 6 December 2003, 01:17 »
Why is it that there are people who ask us why we're still using Windows if we keep bitching about it?

The answer has been mentioned too many times in the forum already, but to re-iterate, it's because a great deal of software I require for my work only runs on Windows (is too processor-intensive to run via Wine) and I'm not a programmer, nor do I have the cash to purchase a Mac which is the only other place I can get the required software.

Just because I am forced to use Windows doesn't mean I want to be, nor that I should be, an M$ groupie and sing the praises of a shoddy OS that's not stable or secure enough to protect my data from loss or interception by unauthorised persons (and I hereby do NOT give Microsoft any rights whatsoever to my data and any attempts to do so whether stated in any .NET ToU or otherwise will be met with severe repercussions, including postings of such evidence on the net, on MSN and anywhere else that might publicly harm Microsoft).
Optimist: Glass is half full
Pessimist: Glass is half empty
IT Technician: Glass is twice as big as it needs to be

Refalm

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 704
  • Sjembek!
    • RADIOKNOP
Unbelievable...
« Reply #1 on: 6 December 2003, 23:32 »
Some games don't run on Linux, so I have to play it on Linux. And I do C# .NET programming at school. The Ximian Mono C# compiler just isn't good enough yet to replace Visual Studio.

Xeen

• VIP
  • Kudos: 55
Unbelievable...
« Reply #2 on: 7 December 2003, 05:02 »
quote:
Originally posted by Refalm:
Some games don't run on Linux, so I have to play it on Linux. And I do C# .NET programming at school. The Ximian Mono C# compiler just isn't good enough yet to replace Visual Studio.

Who the fuck cares about C# and .NOT??? They're nothing more than proprietary ripoffs of C/C++ and Java just so M$ can claim more "innovation".