Author Topic: Microsoft and donations.  (Read 1490 times)

voidmain

• VIP
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
Microsoft and donations.
« Reply #15 on: 23 May 2002, 05:03 »
If neither of us know Billy's true personal motives as you claim, then you have no more right to speak highly of him as a person than I have to speak lowly of him. I have to presume that he has a "small" amount of influence at M$ and that M$'s actions as a company have to be reflections of Billy's personal beliefs. He built the company, the company does nothing without his approval or direction. Nobody farts at M$ without Billy telling them to.

And "Evil Empire" is not a new word for MS, I've been using it for many years, and I certainly wasn't the first.
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

pkd_lives

• Kudos: 0
Microsoft and donations.
« Reply #16 on: 23 May 2002, 06:32 »
So here is a thought, or two.

There are companies always upgrading. So why don't they offer all those P1XX and 486, etc. with old software to school? They could buy up bankrupt stock at a fraction of the price M$ will charge for software upgrade. And Linux can still run on older machines. So you loose a little speed, hell you kill more birds with that stone, because the kids cannot, or will have a slow time, using the school comps. for games and internet.

Kids need exposure to computers and the general details of how they work, processor; hard drive; external peripherals; OS's; interfaces; apps, etc. They DO NOT need the latest killer apps, or tech. At college it's different, there you are, in theory at least, being taught about how this stuff is in the 'real world'.