Author Topic: Why people choose Microsoft.  (Read 2626 times)

ForceSphere

• Kudos: 0
Why people choose Microsoft.
« on: 7 February 2003, 06:59 »
I know Linux is denting Microsoft's monopoly but still few people use Linux.  The reason people dont flood to Linux is beacuse it is a lot harder than Windows (or because "new" means bad like XP    ).  I am not saying Windows is good by any means, i am saying it is all people know.  Most of us here are young, and young people try new things.  The average person:
1) doesnt have the time to run and learn a new OS
2) doesnt really care because Windows half-asses things for them and they think it is peachy because they know nothing else.
I just got RedHat, and i love it, im still a very large noob at it but i can see once i get the hang of it, i will have no need to dual boot with windows anymore.
I think Windows' dominace will aventually change, but right now there are lots of people who just dont give a shit, they just wanna check their email and chat basicly.  Most people dont know how to do the most basic things on Windows, let alone try to learn a much more difficult system (I feel it is only difficult because it is new, if every1 was brought up on Linux and Windows was the newer kid on the block, if you will, Windows would be the hard one to learn)

JH

« Reply #1 on: 7 February 2003, 12:55 »
Well, I don't think Linux (or whatever) is HARDER. It's not the point anyway. Most of average users don't care about OS - they get it pre-installed with a new computer or ask someone to install some OS. OSes are the pain in the arse for system administrators and they are the only people who really cares about what OS to use. The reasons MS dominates, IMHO, are:
1. Traditional. "Everyone uses it. Six million lemmings can't be wrong."
2. Software. As I mentioned, almost nobody needs OS. People need the environment to run programs.
3. Hardware support. Every manufacturer makes drivers for Windows and just few add ones for Linux.