Author Topic: Why people choose Microsoft.  (Read 2628 times)

excorcist

• Kudos: 0
Why people choose Microsoft.
« Reply #30 on: 26 March 2003, 07:07 »
Look, it seems that most of you miss the point.

Yes Linux is better
No linux is not easy to use right out of the box
Yes a lot of people don't even realize that linux exists (see lack of marketing)
No there is hardly any available support for linux (except for places like this)
No my grandpa could not use linux
No games are not easy to install on a linux box
Yes linux is extremely cryptic to new users

I have used computers since I put my first 8086 computer together. I have been working on them since the 286 came out and now I own my own Modification and Repair business (KC Case Modifications).

Come on guys, you really think that people don't use linux because they are blinded? I'm not blinded, I am a fully certified tech and have been for quite some time. Linux is ass to use in comparison to say, xp pro. Yes it is a resource hog but it's familiar and easy. I don't really want to have to recompile the newest copy of my favorite game just to install it on linux.

If Linux would develop some tools to simplify things for previous windows users then maybe more people would flock to linux. Unfortunately anyone that buys a prebuit system is an idiot (excepting laptops. See too low voltage caps on motherboards for purposes of money. I.E. Gateway - Used to work for them).

Just cause some of you are under the impression that you are Uber 1337 does nothing for the rest of the people in the world. Just because it was easy for you to learn does not mean that it is easy for someone with no knowledge to learn.

People do not want to have to read a 1000 page manual to use their computer. How would you feel if when you bought a new car you had to build the engine yourself?

Ahh fuckit. Half of you will probably not get my point since this thread was created for the bashing of windows.