Author Topic: Can They Do Anything On Their Own?  (Read 1447 times)

NESnerd

• Kudos: 0
Can They Do Anything On Their Own?
« on: 16 January 2002, 07:09 »
I'm kind of new to the I hate Microsoft world, I suppose. I'm even kind of writing an essay, for my friends, about it. I was just wondering, have they come up with anything on their own? We have Windows, which was based off UNIX. IIS is there wanna-be Apache. They're crappy serverside language ASP, is just complete shit made to compete with PHP. Not to mention all the other shit they put out. Have they came up with anything on their own? It seems strange how much one company can suck so much.

quote:
Anything Microsoft can do OSS has done and has done better.

[ January 19, 2002: Message edited by: NESnerd ]

my name is matt

voidmain

• VIP
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
« Reply #1 on: 16 January 2002, 07:57 »
quote:
Originally posted by NESnerd:
We have Windows, which was based off UNIX.

I will agree with all of your post except the above line. If they based Windows off UNIX they missed the boat *completely*. Linux on the other hand is based of UNIX (minix). Saying Windows is based off UNIX is like saying a moped was based off the Ferrari.
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

NESnerd

« Reply #2 on: 17 January 2002, 01:43 »
Well, yeah. I mean, UNIX was one of the first OS's out. Windows doesn't look the same or operate the same, but uhm...they're both operating systems. :-D My main point is everything they have made, there's already something like, and Microsoft's version usually just sucks. Like, UNIX based OS's are good, while Windows sucks.
my name is matt

voidmain

• VIP
« Reply #3 on: 17 January 2002, 04:55 »