Author Topic: My thoughts on "Running Linux"  (Read 1097 times)

edwardsen35

• Kudos: 0
My thoughts on "Running Linux"
« on: 25 December 2002, 06:56 »
I'm a newbie to Linux and I wanted to learn more about it.  My local LUG recommended reading "Running Linux".  I went to amazon.com to buy the book.  I saw that a new edition was going to be released in 2 weeks so I decided to wait for the new edition.  2 weeks went by and I got an e-mail from Amazon saying that they were pushing the release date to December.  I decided to wait for the new edition because I was busy with school and I knew that I wouldn't have a lot of time to read it.  
     Now that the first semester is over I have been able to read the first 7 chapters.  I have been very disappointed with the book.  I have found numerous spelling and grammatical mistakes.  I am beginning to wonder if anybody even edited this book.  What is even more damaging to the book's creditability is that I have found information in the book that is incorrect.  For example here is a passage from the book:

When you want to use tar in conjunction with bzip2, you need to tell tar about your compression program preferences, like this:
     tar cvf tarfile.tar.bz2 --use-compress-              program=bzip2 files...
or, shorter
     tar cvf tarfile.tar.bz2 --use-compress-              program=bzip2 files...
or, shorter still:
     tar cvjf tarfile.tar.bz2 files

The first two comands are exactly the same!!!!  

I know that the book is 600 pages long but I can’t believe the amount of mistakes that I have found so far.  I have learned a lot but I wonder if I would have been better off to buy the third edition.

-A Frustrated Newbie
     edwardsen35

choasforages

• VIP
  • Kudos: 7
    • http://it died
« Reply #1 on: 25 December 2002, 07:11 »
learn from its mistakes, and read all the howtos from back to back at the linux howto place/*don't remember it from memory*/
x86: a hack on a hack of a hackway
alpha, hewlett packed it A-way