Author Topic: /home  (Read 1453 times)

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« on: 11 November 2002, 12:57 »
Hey.

I just made a new partition in the linux installer, it was the /home partition.

Now im in and the partition is under /mnt/disk/
how do i make this seperate partition the home directory?

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #1 on: 11 November 2002, 14:03 »
Log off and log in as root, move all the data from /home to /mnt/disk, unmount /mnt/disk, change the /etc/fstab, mount /home:

# mv /home/* /mnt/disk
# umount /mnt/disk

Assuming /mnt/disk is on /dev/hda3, change /etc/fstab from:

Code: [Select]

to

Code: [Select]

then

# mount /home

Log off and log on as a normal user where your home directory (and all other users home directory) will be on the /home partition rather than the /home directory on the root partition.
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #2 on: 11 November 2002, 14:12 »
Code: [Select]

Theres my fstab, im in mandrake, i changed over yesterday(sunday) so its got all this supermount shit that i dont have a clue about... a hand, anyone?

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #3 on: 11 November 2002, 14:17 »
Apparently after creating your partition you mounted it manually on /mnt/disk. No problem, after moving the data and unmounting /mnt/disk, just insert the line I mentioned as the second line in your fstab:

Code: [Select]

Again, I am assuming your /mnt/disk is on /dev/hda3. Change "/dev/hda3" to whatever it *really* is. I am also assuming you created the file system on this partition as "ext3" which is what it needs to be.

[ November 11, 2002: Message edited by: void main ]

Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #4 on: 11 November 2002, 14:25 »
ok so i change

Code: [Select]

to


Code: [Select]

i just need to be clear, i had my red hat install fucked from the start, i wanna do it clean this time. sorry for any trouble void main.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #5 on: 11 November 2002, 14:29 »
No no no, don't change the "pts" line, *insert* the /dev/hda3 line before the "pts" line and after the "/dev/hda5" line. Also, did I just make a lucky guess on the partition being "/dev/hda3"? Check the real partition by typing "df /mnt/disk" and see if it really is on "/dev/hda3". If it's not, use whatever it says it is rather than "/dev/hda3".
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #6 on: 11 November 2002, 14:33 »
ok this is just getting freaky,

i did the df thing and it came up with hda5, MY FRICKING LINUX PARTITION. what the fuck is going on here im very confused.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #7 on: 11 November 2002, 14:35 »
Let me ask you this. Just *how* did you make the new partition? Did you actually create a file system after making the partition? Did you mount it after creating the file system? You can do an:

# fdisk -l /dev/hda

to see all your partitions. Why don't you run that command and copy the output into this thread. We'll figure out what you are doing.  

[ November 11, 2002: Message edited by: void main ]

Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #8 on: 11 November 2002, 14:38 »
fdisk not found, lol.

edit: by the way i used the mandrake installer graphical partition manager thing.

[ November 11, 2002: Message edited by: Doogee ]


voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #9 on: 11 November 2002, 14:39 »
Try:

# /sbin/fdisk -l /dev/hda
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #10 on: 11 November 2002, 14:41 »
Code: [Select]

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #11 on: 11 November 2002, 14:45 »
Ok, I see /dev/hda7 that is ~600MB that is not listed in your /etc/fstab. Could this be the partition you created? If so, is that enough room to hold everything currently under /home (du -sk /home)?

Also, if that is the correct partition, did you create a file system on it? Can't copy files to a partition, you can only copy files to a file system that resides on a partition. If you did create a file system you should be able to mount it on /mnt/disk:

# mount /dev/hda7 /mnt/disk
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #12 on: 11 November 2002, 14:48 »
the mount had no errors. so whats the next step. we spent all this time looking for my partition. lol.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
/home
« Reply #13 on: 11 November 2002, 14:50 »
Now do a:

# df /mnt/disk

See if it shows "/dev/hda7" and then make sure there is nothing in it "ls -al /mnt/disk". Also make sure it is type "ext3":

# mount | grep /dev/hda7
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
/home
« Reply #14 on: 11 November 2002, 14:58 »
heres a dump:


Code: [Select]

looks like everythings go?