Author Topic: What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?  (Read 668 times)

Bateluer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Kudos: 0
Gnome in RH 7.2 has almost zero GUI support for RPMs, and I like how I have Gnome setup. What do I type at a command line to install an RPM?

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #1 on: 10 March 2002, 21:53 »
"rpm -i rpmname.rpm" would do it, although I use "rpm -Uvh rpmname.rpm" for both installation and upgrades of RPMS.  I never use the "-i".  Also you can install mutilple RPMS if you use wildcards in your RPM names, or more than one RPM on your command line.  For instance.  If you want to install all of the kde RPMS you would do something like:

rpm -Uvh kde*

but you may find that it will not install because it is dependent on some other package, just add the other package to the command line:

rpm -Uvh kde* arts*

And of course you can use any graphical KDE or Gnome RPM graphical tool in Gnome (gnorpm, kpackage, etc).  And if you run konqueror as a file manager when you click on an RPM it will bring up the package manager.  I think Gnome's file manager also does this but I don't have Gnome installed on the machine I'm working on.  I prefer the command line for most everything though so maybe the other GUI  types can suggest something for you.

[ March 10, 2002: Message edited by: VoidMain ]

Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Bateluer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Kudos: 0
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #2 on: 10 March 2002, 10:17 »
Thank you.

kinky

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Kudos: 0
    • http://www.linuxchix.org/
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #3 on: 11 March 2002, 01:56 »
or you could use KDE which has Kpackage ... to manage installed packages and do it all through a gui
Tech Support: "How can I help you?"
Customer: "I want to lodge a complaint."
Tech Support: "What seems to be the problem?"
Customer: "I specifically asked you not to program my Internet with pornography. I want it removed immediately."

Calum

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,812
  • Kudos: 1000
    • Calum Carlyle's music
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #4 on: 11 March 2002, 18:00 »
sorry to bang on about this, but is there a graphical option for installing programs that come as a .tar.gz or a .tgz?
will said option already be on my RedHat7 cds? or will i need to download it and (ho ho) install it?  ;)
visit these websites and make yourself happy forever:
It's my music! | My music on MySpace | Integrational Polytheism

badkarma

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
  • Kudos: 0
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #5 on: 11 March 2002, 18:33 »
I think so yeah (you can use KPackage AFAIK)

but seeing .tar.gz files are mostly source distributions it's advisable to spend some time learning to configure/install them from a tarball for greater flexibility
If you can't learn to do something well, learn to enjoy doing it poorly.

Calum

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,812
  • Kudos: 1000
    • Calum Carlyle's music
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #6 on: 11 March 2002, 20:08 »
that's right but i'm a poor confused    :confused:    soul with no ability to get my head around this obviously simple concept...

[ March 11, 2002: Message edited by: Calum ]

[ March 11, 2002: Message edited by: Calum ]

visit these websites and make yourself happy forever:
It's my music! | My music on MySpace | Integrational Polytheism

badkarma

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 497
  • Kudos: 0
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #7 on: 11 March 2002, 20:25 »
hmmm ... I tried to install a random .tar.gz source package residing on my hd (namely SDL_Mixer) with KPackage and had no luck in achieving this. So I guess manual installation of .tar.gz packages is needed anyway (but for most of them a simple ./configure;make;make install will do the trick)
If you can't learn to do something well, learn to enjoy doing it poorly.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #8 on: 12 March 2002, 04:07 »
*.tar.gz files graphically?  Sure, just double click on it in the KDE file manager (Konqueror). But you certainly have a lot more control from the shell.

[ March 11, 2002: Message edited by: VoidMain ]

Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Calum

  • Global Moderator
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7,812
  • Kudos: 1000
    • Calum Carlyle's music
What do you type at a command line to install an RPM?
« Reply #9 on: 13 March 2002, 14:34 »
well, it seems to me that that only opens them up as if they were a directory. maybe that's what's needed though, i think i'll stick with wrestling with this formidable command line!
(maybe it's my actual installation files at fault, as some install fine...)
visit these websites and make yourself happy forever:
It's my music! | My music on MySpace | Integrational Polytheism