Author Topic: Audio Workstation  (Read 1041 times)

cavj1

• Kudos: 0
    • http://none
Audio Workstation
« on: 22 April 2002, 22:11 »
Hi,
Well I'm new to Linux (just got Corel Linux) and I'm curios if anyone is using Linux for a Digital Audio workstation (DAW) and what they think of it.  How has drive support and software support been?  
Thanks  

Calum

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 1000
    • Calum Carlyle's music
Audio Workstation
« Reply #1 on: 23 April 2002, 13:43 »
you mean for proper studio stuff?

myself, i have been trying in vain to find out if the software even exists for such a workstation.

If i find out, i'll post here...
visit these websites and make yourself happy forever:
It's my music! | My music on MySpace | Integrational Polytheism

cavj1

Audio Workstation
« Reply #2 on: 25 April 2002, 22:03 »
quote:
Originally posted by Calum:
you mean for proper studio stuff?

myself, i have been trying in vain to find out if the software even exists for such a workstation.

If i find out, i'll post here...

I'm not sure what you mean by proper audio stuff....I mean PRO Audio like PRO Tools, Soundforge, Cube etc.  Has anyone used Linux to record and mix albums...I guess I should have been more clear...sorry

Calum

• Global Moderator
    • Calum Carlyle's music
Audio Workstation
« Reply #3 on: 25 April 2002, 22:39 »
no, you didn't need to be more specific, i just meant do you want proper studio stuff or do you just want bog standard file sharing and mp3 playing with id3 tag editing and all that crap.

Now i know you want proper stuff, i have to say i confess i haven't seen that much around, although i would really like to. The major software houses don't develop for linux and won't for a while. Sonic Foundry does not even develop for the mac. They may be fantastic at bringing out stable software et c (unlike CoolEdit, well what do you expect from a developer that used to work for Microsoft?) but they are well missing the Mac and Linux market i think.