Author Topic: Triple Booting  (Read 1111 times)

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #15 on: 29 November 2002, 17:32 »
How would i do that in RH?

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
Triple Booting
« Reply #16 on: 29 November 2002, 18:27 »
to mount a FAT partition do this as root


# mount -t vfat /dev/hda5 /mnt/Windows


not too sure about linux partitions though /dev/hda5 is the name of the partition its on so dont just write hda5  

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #17 on: 29 November 2002, 18:53 »
I tried that, no luck, it says /mnt/Windows does not exist.

Doogee

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 774
  • Kudos: 109
    • http://m-db.info
Triple Booting
« Reply #18 on: 29 November 2002, 18:54 »
sorry, u need to create the directory /mnt/Windows first...

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #19 on: 29 November 2002, 19:43 »
Bah!  Where would i do this i wonder!  

RH will not boot anymore because i used the SuSE installation cd to boot SuSE.

I'm thinking that maybe i should install RH BEFORE SuSE, what do you think?

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
Triple Booting
« Reply #20 on: 29 November 2002, 21:41 »
Did you create a boot floppy during the installation? Let me give you a bit of advice, create the boot floppy during installation when it asks, it will make it much easier to fix your boot loader in cases like this. You most certainly do not have to reinstall to fix a boot loader. Also, please read the FAQ on how to mount partitions.

[ November 29, 2002: Message edited by: void main ]

Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #21 on: 30 November 2002, 01:51 »
Yes i created boot floppies.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
Triple Booting
« Reply #22 on: 30 November 2002, 02:01 »
Then you should be able to stick the RedHat boot floppy in the drive and boot it up just as if you had booted from your GRUB menu. Once booted up you need to reinstall the Boot loader on the boot sector by opening a terminal and typing:

$ su -
(enter root's password)

# grub-install /dev/hda

Then to mount your SuSe partition you would:

# mkdir /suse
# mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda3 /suse

You should find a /suse/boot directory containing the kernel and the suse grub configuration. You'll need to look at SuSe's grub.conf and find the section for the kernel that SuSe boots. Copy that section to your RedHat grub.conf and copy the suse kernel (and initrd if it uses it) to the /boot partition which is where your RedHat GRUB and kernel reside. In RedHat the grub configuration file can be accessed either at /etc/grub.conf or /boot/grub/grub.conf (they are the same file, one is a link to the other). A RedHat kernel configuration section will look something like this:

Code: [Select]

Make a similar section for SuSe except replace the "vmlinuz-2.4.18-14" with whatever SuSe's kernel name is, and change the "root=LABEL=/" in that SuSe entry to "root=/dev/hda3". If SuSe does not use an initrd just delete that line in the SuSe section.

Now I don't remember how SuSe does it's /etc/fstab but you may have to modify it if it does it like RedHat does. The first column for the "/" partition should be "/dev/hda3" rather than "LABEL=/" or whater. RedHat labels the partition and uses it in the fstab rather than the real device name. No big deal though because you can just change that in the /etc/fstab to the real device name (/dev/hda3 in your case) in the /suse/etc/fstab if it needs it. If you don't change that SuSe will likely try and boot the RedHat partition. In fact, you might want to change it on RedHat's /etc/fstab as well. In your case the RedHat /etc/fstab should have "/dev/hda6" for the "/" partition entry.

Just be careful when editing config files that you are abolutely sure that you know whether you are editing the SuSe file or the RedHat file. It would be easy to fat finger and mix them up. Remember when booted in RedHat the SuSe configuration files will always start with "/suse". For instance "/suse/etc/fstab".

A side note, to mount your Windows partition you would do something like this:

# mkdir /c
# mount -t vfat /dev/hda1 /c

which will mount your "C:" drive on the "/c" directory.

If you want any of the mount examples automatically happen when you boot your system then you need to add a line in the /etc/fstab for each partition that you want to mount.

[ November 29, 2002: Message edited by: void main ]

Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #23 on: 30 November 2002, 02:53 »
Okay thanks, i'm gonna keep what you have written until i reinstall everything again.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
Triple Booting
« Reply #24 on: 30 November 2002, 03:06 »
I don't get it. Why reinstall everything? Now is the time to use that information.
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #25 on: 30 November 2002, 12:21 »
RedHat stopped working, i booted it up and it stopped working alltogether.

voidmain

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 5,605
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
Triple Booting
« Reply #26 on: 30 November 2002, 12:37 »
Could you be a little more descriptive? You are making this too much like work for me. If you want help I'll need details.
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #27 on: 30 November 2002, 12:47 »
Okay i used the boot disk for Suse after i found i couldn't boot SuSE when i installed RH.  I booted SuSE hoping that IT detected the RH partition like it does with the windows partition, plus i am more familar with SuSE.

I quit SuSE and reloaded RH, i logged in, and let it load up but while it was at the login screen it just froze and did so everytime.

Because of my lack of knowledge i then wiped everything, anyway windows is now installed and i will install them again after college.

But, ive posted my problem on another board and some guy said that i don't need a boot partition anymore, i can just have the win parttition then an EXtended with 2 logical drives and a swap.  Does this sound right?

preacher

  • VIP
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 858
  • Kudos: 107
    • http://kansascity.cjb.net
Triple Booting
« Reply #28 on: 30 November 2002, 16:34 »
Ive been dying to try out debian, or openbsd maybe ill triple boot my laptop.
Kansas City Hustle
http://kansascity.cjb.net

Crunchy(Cracked)Butter

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 329
  • Kudos: 125
Triple Booting
« Reply #29 on: 30 November 2002, 19:33 »
Are you then going to post how you did it?