Author Topic: THREADS MAKE FABRIC.......AN IDEA  (Read 402 times)

Sleeping Dog

• Kudos: 0
THREADS MAKE FABRIC.......AN IDEA
« on: 28 August 2002, 21:09 »
In case some of you have not already guessed, I am an Engineer and an IT/IS guy.  I am also a bit older than most of you (except Creedon).

On this forum I have seen discussions of almost every conceivable problem that can arise with the myriad of LINUX installs and the software that is run on them.

Having spent several years of my professional life being required to do technical writing as part of my job description, it bothers me a bit to see all of this wonderful knowledge flowing past on this forum without it being stored in a truly collated, indexed and searchable form.

I am just scratching the surface of LINUX as a viable option to other OS's, and it would certainly be great to be able to log into this site and hit a "Knowledge" area where I could see the information on "how to" presented in a manner whereby a brain-dead guy like me can understand it.  Sure....there are links that everyone posts, but there is stuff here that is not available anywhere else presented in this form.

Maybe some of you can help.  Most of you are thoughtful and intelligent people.  When I did technical writing for equipment and website "how to's" and specifications, I did image and screen caps to show the potential user exactly what they should be seeing.  In Windows world, I used SnagIt from TechSmith to grab stuff off of the screen and then plugged it into a Word document with active indexed links.  Have any of you guys done this for/with any of the LINUX apps?  If so, I would love to learn how to do it.

Can you write me a document, in the way that I just described (with pictures and all) and then we can store it where it can be referenced by other folks too?