Author Topic: Anti-OSX sentiment  (Read 796 times)

billy_gates

• Kudos: 0
    • http://www.skinner.com/jeffberg
Anti-OSX sentiment
« Reply #15 on: 9 November 2002, 21:16 »
quote:
Originally posted by Ex Eleven / b0b 2.1:
Is there some kind of a GNU/Darwin?

Yes there is at
http://www.apple.com/macosx/applications/

hope that address is right, I am not a programmer.

Zombie9920

• Kudos: 33
Anti-OSX sentiment
« Reply #16 on: 9 November 2002, 22:18 »
quote:
Originally posted by psyjax v6.9 /Dave:
Lately I have been noting a decidedly anti-OSX slant from forum regulars. Arguments saying that it isn't customizable enugh, isn't true open source etc.

This is all garbage. OSX is fully customizable just as any UNIX. You have full access to the Darwin underlayer and can mess with it all you want. The Aqua GUI is also very pourus and there are various ways to customize it to your likeing. Apple includes many development tools for OSX ranging from the gcc compilers to the wonderfull Developer Tools sweet.

OSX is potentialy as good as any UNIX, and is surely the BEST desktop UNIX around. Mac users and Linux/*NIX users are on the same teem here and I don't think we should be trashing each other.

But none the less, if you have some kind of Beef with OSX, or any other OS for that matter, at least try to make a valid point with substance. Most of the stuff I have seen tossed around are kind of like half assed arguments and silly OSX sux type crap.

Perhaps maybe you are starting to see the Open Source community for what they really are. They are a bunch of selfish dorks who think that Open Source should control the software industry. Thier way of thinking is if it isn't Open Source it is no-good. They don't just hate MS, they hate any software company who refuse to give thier software away for free. The Open Source community is nothing but a bunch of cheap bastards who aren't willing to pay money for software.

[ November 09, 2002: Message edited by: Zombie9920 ]

psyjax