Author Topic: Windows 2000  (Read 2034 times)

Stryker

• VIP
  • Kudos: 41
Windows 2000
« Reply #15 on: 19 January 2003, 02:58 »
quote:
Originally posted by Panos:

I've kernel panic'ed X.2 myself once but I have to admit that I really gave it a hard time.    :D    However, I have to say (judging from my own experience) that OS X is as stable as Linux.      

I've never used OSX before, but from my experience with linux, i've never even heard of a kernel panic occur. every once in a while a program will crash and close (konqueror, mozilla, gimp), but i've never heard of the kernel itself going down.

Pantso

• Kudos: 55
    • http://www.support-freesoftware.org
Windows 2000
« Reply #16 on: 19 January 2003, 03:26 »
I've never had a kernel panic in Linux either. I forgot to mention that the kernel panic in OS X had something to do with upgrading my iBook's RAM and has never occured since then. Keep in mind also that I've been using OS X for four months now and haven't experienced a crash of any kind (even in applications). I guess I was just lucky or something.  

xyle_one

• VIP
  • Kudos: 135
Windows 2000
« Reply #17 on: 19 January 2003, 04:25 »
the worst i have experienced in osX was finder fooking up, which was easily resolved. i just restarted it  
i have had a few apps crash, like chimera and flash, but i havent brought the system down. i have never had to restart the computer. whereas with windows, reagardless of which version, explorer crashes and takes the whole system down. or a program crashes and i have to reboot the computer. windows sucks (we all know that). period.
I havent crashed linux either, like osx, ive had programs mess up, but it never takes the whole system down.