Author Topic: Linspire Questions  (Read 3053 times)

anonomouse

• Kudos: 10
Linspire Questions
« on: 15 August 2005, 20:03 »
Does anyone have any experience with that OS?  I am a novice user. I downloaded Vector Linux but its so cluttered I had much trouble figuring things out. Linspire sounds very easy to use since it is supposed to be "like" windows in its operation. Thanx in advance.
PS...
 Not very bright with computers;)

Lead Head

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 534
Re: Linspire Questions
« Reply #1 on: 15 August 2005, 20:23 »
i know ubuntu is easy to use, not sure about linspire
sig.

worker201

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 703
    • http://www.triple-bypass.net
« Reply #2 on: 15 August 2005, 20:26 »
Not to be mean or anything, but if you are not very bright with computers, then perhaps you should stay away from Linux.  No matter what anybody says or what kind of advancements there are, Linux is hard.  Get a Mac or stick with Windows.

If you really want to use Linux, you are going to have to devote a lot more of your time and effort to studying computers and how they work.  In Windows or OSX, you can get away with not reading any manuals or helpfiles, but in Linux, there is serious study and research involved in almost every task.  Linux is an operating system designed by computer enthusiasts for computer enthusiasts.  If you are not a computer enthusiast, you are going to become frustrated and angry, and you will never get anything done.

Of course, once you pass the learning curve, you will be amazing your friends with your processing power and freedom, and you will be a lord among flies.  But you have to want it to get it.

MarathoN

• Kudos: 168
« Reply #3 on: 15 August 2005, 20:38 »
Quote from: worker201
Of course, once you pass the learning curve, you will be amazing your friends with your processing power and freedom, and you will be a lord among flies. But you have to want it to get it.

And that's the best part of Linux, for me at least. ;)