Author Topic: Finding The Right OS  (Read 3090 times)

TonyFordz

• Kudos: 10
    • http://TonyFordz.net
Finding The Right OS
« on: 21 December 2005, 10:09 »
I am very new to Linux, but over the years I have heard good things about it. I am rather sick of MicroSoft Windows, and now wish to build my 2nd PC with a different OS. The only reason I have continued to use Windows, is because I do not know if my software & games will be compatible with another OS other then Windows.

I just bought a new motherboard, and so far it seams to work great. The down side is, it doesn't have drivers to support Linux, and or anything other then Windows OSes. This is a slight downfall.

I know most people are going with AMD now days, and I still to this day prefer P4 & Xeon processors. I am at this time running a P4 1.7GHz Socket 478 CPU, 20GB Quantum Fireball 5400 rpm Master, 300GB Maxtor 7200 rpm ATA133 16mb buffer, 1GB DDR333, P4P800-E Deluxe Motherboard, 17" KDS Monitor, MicroFucker Inferred Keyboard & Wireless Mouse, OEM Non Brand Name DVD Writer, 52x32x52 Liteon CD Writer, ATI 9600 Pro 128mb AGP 8x.... This is my first PC that I have been upgrading over time.

I want a stable OS that is not a resource hog. I am sick of having my PC crash, and being nailed with everything known to man on the net, that was meant to target MicroSoft OSes. I am in great need of suggestions for an OS that is simple to use, but also very powerful. Something that will not be a waste of money, and will be well worth my time and money.

Anyone know of an OS that may be suitable for me? If so please do share you're ideas, and help.

Thank you,
Tony

mobrien_12

• VIP
  • Kudos: 711
    • http://www.geocities.com/mobrien_12
Re: Finding The Right OS
« Reply #1 on: 21 December 2005, 10:39 »
Quote from: TonyFordz