Author Topic: Linsux and Winbloze - There is no decent operating system for the PC!  (Read 4831 times)

savet

• Kudos: 228
quote:
I will however, continue to duel boot me system. I will check out the linmodem stuff too. I'm glad my PC came with Winbloze because if I had bought a blank PC, I would be fucked, unless I installed Winbloze.
How could I have got Linsux to work then?
If I didn't have a Winbloze CD I would've borrowed one and the removed it when I found a driver for my modem. These no legal way to set up a blank PC with Linsux!

One way would be to purchase a modem that isn't hard wired into the system.  I've got a few spare modems floating around that I've pulled out of old computers.  If you want one, I'll send one to you for the cost of shipping.  One other thing to consider though, is that if your ISP requires special software (such as AOL, MSN, etc) Linux may not work.  I've never tried using such programs with Wine.

quote:

How the Fuck do you do that?
I'm a newB remember.

Sorry, I should have been more specific.  This was meant to give you something to read up as you get familiar with your Linux system, assuming you decided to continue running Linux.  A search on Google will turn up plenty of tutorials.

Also, on a side note, the mounting of the cdrom and floppy has a purpose.  It's actually built in because Linux is a multi user operating system.  It's designed to prevent another user from removing media that someone else is using.  Given time, you'll be typing "mount /mnt/floppy" without even thinking about it.  It's like driving a manual transmission.  People who aren't used to it will complain about how much of a pain the clutch is, when in fact, you have more control over the engine.  Mount is similar in this respect.