Author Topic: Useless ATI drivers (fglrx)  (Read 2969 times)

RaZoR1394

• Kudos: 219
    • http://razoreye.mine.nu/
Useless ATI drivers (fglrx)
« on: 25 August 2006, 18:07 »
Please don't do the same mistake as I did (I bought a high end ATI card) a year ago. The problems are huge for people with all kinds of Radeon cards ranging from 9200 to x1900. My 9800pro has worked fine in my htpc but my x850xt has mostly been problems (lockups, lagg, bad performance, low on features, etc). Now I'm struggling with a very annoying bug that keeps me from logging out (it hardlocks the computer and the workarounds don't work). The bug is confirmed and has been for over a half year. Now I'm studying at the university and I simply don't have time for this crap. I made a big thread at another forum (swedish) where most ATI users reported problems with fglrx. Drivers have gotten better but they're still crap. One release breaks r200 support, other one introduces lockups. If you look at the development they keep introducing new features while not fixing most of the current bugs. If you contact ATI support you get the classical "Fuck of, support for GNU/Linux is provided as is.". There is a guy aiding over at Rage3d but often he doesn't give a rats ass specially when you start criticising ATI. Nvidia have several peeps over at nVNews and I also believe that they offer GNU/Linux support via their support center. Performance with nVidia Forceware is also similar to Windows if not better, Cedega features works fully and there ain't many problems with native games.

So please buy an nVidia card if you wan't to use GNU/Linux and play games or Intel GMA if you just want eye candy like AIGLX. I will probably insert a nVidia