Author Topic: VB Sucks  (Read 820 times)

anphanax

• Kudos: 11
    • http://june.tripod.com
VB Sucks
« on: 9 February 2004, 11:09 »
Update:
I finally figured out the problem so I figured I might as well post it. Apparently, it wouldn't let go of the file. The system had opened it in a way which it was unshareable, so after it loaded the first time when I tried to update the picture, the file was already open, so it failed (and gave me a nice, confusing error that had nothing to do with the actual problem). The problem was fixed after I spent about an hour figuring out a workaround and now my program works    .

First off, I've been using it for about 5 years. Therefore I have experience with this product and I know what i'm talking about.

VB6 was tolerable. It had a few annoying quirks though. If I typed DO:LOOP in the immediate window, it crashed. Sometimes when I was working with class modules and objects, it would crash instead of ending a program normally (and yes, I was using the SET OBJECT = NOTHING crap, even though it's not required). This was annoying, but a small price to pay for fast development. If I needed something to read binary data, convert it to bitmap data, and paint it with the StretchDIBits API, VB rocked because I didn't have to make any static classes or waste time finding any hDCs on my own, like I would have had to with c++ w32.

EDIT: I meant the static window class used internally with windows, like the "Button" class, or "List" class. Substitute static with image.

Then I decided I should finally upgrade to VB .NET. It only took me a few days to figure out why no one wanted to upgrade. For one, you have crap like this:
Doevents has become Application.Doevents().