Author Topic: ithurtswhenip  (Read 1614 times)

ithurtswhenip

• Kudos: 0
ithurtswhenip
« on: 14 November 2002, 18:12 »
Greetings, I just found this messageboard and it looks rather active.

I'm relatively new to Linux and have 1000 questions. Today I'm just going to ask a couple.

I've got a PII 350 with 320 MB SDRAM and Mandrake 8 runs like a snail on it. Windows 2000 Advanced server seems to be 100 % faster on the same machine. Any idea why?

Windows 2000 Advanced server runs stable without crashing on this machine for months at a time but Mandrake will automatically crash every few hours for no explained reason while it is sitting idle.

Although it took me a while to find the default www folder for Apache I was able to host web pages on my local home network (10 computers) but I can't seem to get out to the web through my link sys router. I put the entire Linux machine in the DMZ which should allow EVERYTHING to go out to the web and no one on the web is able to view it.

Any solutions?

Also I set up SAMBA for the first time and I can browse a Linux share from my Microsoft network but cannot open it.

I'm guessing I've set up the permissions improperly any suggestions?

I'd mostly like to use the Linux box for web serving and maybe even as a game server. Any suggestions on configuration would be invaluable.

Thanks
ithurtswhenip :)

slave

• http://www.fuckmicrosoft.com
ithurtswhenip
« Reply #1 on: 15 November 2002, 01:14 »
quote:
I've got a PII 350 with 320 MB SDRAM and Mandrake 8 runs like a snail on it. Windows 2000 Advanced server seems to be 100 % faster on the same machine. Any idea why?