Author Topic: finally !!! a linux user  (Read 829 times)

mc0282

• Kudos: 0
finally !!! a linux user
« on: 13 December 2002, 12:15 »
a friend of my was kind of to send me a copy of red hat 8.0 and now i have linux in my power..
so im very new to linux so please i need little help from you linux user.

1.how do you multiboot with red hat and windows 98 ?  (im using win98 because i want to play my games)

2.what is the tool you need to get start on programming in  linux ?

i wont lie i really like  visual c++ i don't know if there another compiler out there is the same as visual c++ or even better

and i would like to you thank you for taking time to read my post..

P.S FUCK MICROSOFT!!!!!!
huh, what?

Calum

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 1000
    • Calum Carlyle's music
finally !!! a linux user
« Reply #1 on: 13 December 2002, 13:04 »
i am sure many people will post replies to your questions in a specific fashion, but perhaps you should read through the FAQ to broaden your general knowledge.
visit these websites and make yourself happy forever:
It's my music! | My music on MySpace | Integrational Polytheism

portaloo

• Kudos: 0
finally !!! a linux user
« Reply #2 on: 13 December 2002, 13:12 »
Hi mc

mee too, hava had linux running for just over a week now and having fun.
BACK UP YOUR DATA FIRST.
Now i'm not familiar with RedHat cos i chose Mandrake but maybe my experiences will help.
First off are you using one or two hard drives?
BACK UP YOUR DATA FIRST.
If one then you will need to:
defrag your hard drive. Run scan disc just in case.
partition your hard drive ensuring that windows is on the first partition. Just depends on how much room you have as to how much you make the partitions. As far as i've read the install process for Mandrake is along the same lines as RedHats so the installer should ask you where you want to install linux.