Author Topic: PROFESSIONAL SOFTWARE.....GROUP PROJECT?  (Read 2912 times)

Sleeping Dog

• Kudos: 0
PROFESSIONAL SOFTWARE.....GROUP PROJECT?
« on: 16 July 2002, 19:36 »
In a couple of previous threads we have discussed the dilema regarding the non-existance of true high-end professional software for the LINUX platform.  (Analogues or versions of software like AutoCAD and PhotoShop).

If sophisticated Windows games can be run on a Linux box, then why not Win versions of pro software?  Being a novice, I have yet to try this.  Therefore, I have an idea.

I just got my hands on an old Elpina/PC Chips based slot-one P-300 that I repaired and loaded with 96 MEG of mixed 70-ns memory (DIMMs and EDO.  It now has two HD's....a 1.2 GIG WD and a 1.0 GIG Seagate.  It has a 4-MEG SIS 6326 based video card and I have a second 4-MEG PCI Trident card for doing a Dual-monitor setup.

I also have old Windows versions of PhotoShop 5.5 and AutoCAD Rel. 13.

I WILL SET THIS BOX UP BASED ON YOUR VOTES AND INPUT!  The only criteria are:
1.  It needs to run fast and lean on Linux.
2.  It needs to run those two Win programs (AutoCAD and PhotoShop).
3.  It needs one more document generating program that can cleanly swap files with MS Word.

The hardware and software versions are all about five years old.  Five years ago this would have been a hot screamin' system, even under Win 95.  I designed a lot of industrial machinery, even in 3D on a similar system with only 64 MEG of RAM.

Please make suggestions/vote on the following:

1.  The brand and version of LINUX to load.
2.  The GUI to use.
3.  How to set up the file structure on those two drives.  PhotoShop needs 100 MEG of space and a minimum 300 MEG disk cashe area.  AutoCAD needs 120 MEG of space.
4.  The MS Word LINUX equivalent to load.
5.  How to load and run all of the software.
6.  The best method for Dual-monitor setup with those two cards (must be able to drag between them).