Author Topic: From windows to Linux...  (Read 1283 times)

TheGreatPoo

• Kudos: 0
From windows to Linux...
« on: 7 August 2002, 05:46 »
Hello,

I am new to the Linux concept but have done some reading on it and have come to the conclusion that I am fed up with the Windows OS!  I want to switch COLD TURKEY to Linux.  The version that I have found to be the best IMO (correct me if I am wrong) is Mandrake Linux.  I have a couple of questions about making the switch:

1.  Can I install Mandrake Linux (from a cd that I made from an image (ISO) that I downloaded off of Mandrake's site) after formatting my hardrive and wiping windows off?  Or do I have to use another hard drive as a master with Windows on it and install it onto the blank slave?  I want to install this cleanly and get rid of any hidden crap that windows may leave behind (by formatting it first).  It's just my way of assuring myself that windows is truely dead.

2.  Will windows software work on Mandrake Linux?  If I were to go to Lycos (which from what I can tell has no downloads for Linux) and download an MP3 player for windows (version ?) will it work on a Linux machine?

3.  What about Microsft Office?  My life (or work life) is all on that program but it too buggy!  What can I do about that?

4.  The machine that this will be going onto has an all in one integrated motherboard.  This motherboard (Pc Chips MB810L) has audio, video, and LAN all built onto it and the drivers are all SiS (which do not offer Linux driver dowloads on their site).  I had a hell of a time finding the drivers for this motherboard to get it to work with windows (which coincedentaly did not come with the neccessary drivers that were needed) and I hope that I will not have the same problem with Linux.  Is there a solution for this?

Sorry for asking so many questions but this is a serious thing for me and I want to make sure that I do it right.

Thanx in advance and I apologize for the length!