Author Topic: New Convert...  (Read 4808 times)

Pathos

• Kudos: 416
New Convert...
« on: 5 August 2005, 14:17 »
Hi I'm a second year University student (BSc, Waikato, NZ) and I will soon be converting to Linux.

Well...almost, can't let go of WinXP yet, it supports too many programs that I like too use. And its getting better with the onslaught of commercial grade GPL applications being released ;).

I've got an extra 512mb of ram (from 256) and and extra80gig HD (from 40)  in preparation. I'm looking for a simple distribution of Linux. One that will support all my hardware, has a basic gui and will let me get my hands dirty.

We have some dedicated linux labs setup at our university (gentoo) which has really made me fall in love with the OS. The file system is so clean, the gui so simple yet fully accessable and the shell scripting is very cool. Windows looks like a bombsite in comparision with its folders scrambled all over the place attempting to hide them from the user.

BUT...gentoo seems so slow. With the gnome gui gedit takes 4 seconds to startup, and another 2 to allow input. Why? These machines were far more powerful than mine yet struggle with this simple application. It takes 2 seconds to start the gimp on mine. 0.1 seconds to start up Notepad2 my favourite text editor. I do notice how ever the OS is always instantly responsive when a program hangs unlike Windows.

Sadly I am yet to see a Linux GUI that feels and looks as good as my current skin on WinXP with the Shareware version of WindowBlinds. None seem to respond as fast.

So please help me choose which distribution to get: Fedora, Gentoo, Debian (why is this so big?), other...

Also I am planning to possibly get a dual monitor setup on a Radeon 9600XT. Will this be a problem?

:tux::tux::tux:

Lead Head

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 534
Re: New Convert...
« Reply #1 on: 5 August 2005, 15:26 »