Author Topic: Your education  (Read 768 times)

KernelPanic

• VIP
  • Kudos: 222
Your education
« on: 22 August 2002, 21:31 »
I was just wondering what educations different posters on the FMS/MES forums had. If you dont mind, could you give a brief summary of you education (ie subjects/courses)studied and possibly what you are working as now. Dont post your whole CV though, i just wanted an idea of what everyone had studied.

ps. I dont care about primary school, kindergarten/nursery
Contains scenes of mild peril.

badkarma

• VIP
  • Kudos: 0
Your education
« Reply #1 on: 22 August 2002, 22:37 »
I got my HAVO diploma (equivalent to a High School diploma I think) and did 2 years of college which I didn't finish due to a couple of personal reasons. I got very lucky and have a job as a programmer, I must admit that I learned more in the last year on my job then in the 2 years of school.

So basically I am self educated  
If you can't learn to do something well, learn to enjoy doing it poorly.

voidmain

• VIP
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
Your education
« Reply #2 on: 22 August 2002, 22:50 »
University of South Carolina - computer science/math. 11 weeks at USAF computer programming school (40 hour weeks learning several languages, ASM, ADA, COBOL, etc).
Several few day UNIX admin classes for AIX, Solaris, and HP-UX. A couple of week long Cisco router classes.  Various other programming and OS classes...

But like Karma said. I have learned 1000 times more on my own than in any school. I'm not saying you won't pick up any valuable information in schools and classes, just that there is nothing like learning while doing real world stuff. Classes might give you a kick start, or might make up your mind whether you want to learn more about the subject, make it a profession, or drop it altogether..
Someone please remove this account. Thanks...

KernelPanic

• VIP
  • Kudos: 222
Your education
« Reply #3 on: 22 August 2002, 23:14 »
quote: