Author Topic: Re: OS/2 Warp  (Read 2181 times)

1mck

• Kudos: 0
Re: OS/2 Warp
« on: 25 August 2002, 21:55 »
Newbie here questions regarding OS/2 Warp:
Does it actually run all of my (soon to be gotten rid of) Windoze 98 SE programs like Office 2000, or anything else that I may have? This is the first time that I've even heard about it, other than Bill used to work for them, so if anyone actually uses it, can you tell me what it's like, and what does it look like? I can't seem to find any up-to-date pics of it.

Thanks if advance.
1mck

Soon to be Windows free:)

smokey

« Reply #1 on: 25 August 2002, 10:05 »
Quote from: 1mck
Newbie here questions regarding OS/2 Warp:
Does it actually run all of my (soon to be gotten rid of) Windoze 98 SE programs like Office 2000, or anything else that I may have? This is the first time that I've even heard about it, other than Bill used to work for them, so if anyone actually uses it, can you tell me what it's like, and what does it look like? I can't seem to find any up-to-date pics of it.

Thanks if advance.
1mck

Soon to be Windows free :)

OS/2 Warp's windows emulation only goes as far as windows 3.1 unfortunately. You could always get something like vmware and run that on top of OS/2. The operating system is pretty good but you will want all the fixpacks. Unfortunately IBM still sells this so I can't have a good play around with it.
« Last Edit: 7 February 2008, 13:36 by Orethrius »
//this is how I was born :)

cat /dev/urandom > /dev/mybrain

Tip for win98 (l)users: type copy /con/con in your command prompt to increase stability

1mck

« Reply #2 on: 25 August 2002, 10:52 »
Thanks for the response! is "VMWARE" like "WINE?" Is the vmware much better at allowing me to use my Windoze programs than the wine thingy?

1mck

voidmain

• VIP
  • Kudos: 184
    • http://voidmain.is-a-geek.net/
« Reply #3 on: 25 August 2002, 11:14 »