Author Topic: XP+Compatibility  (Read 1612 times)

LukeHashJ

• Kudos: 0
XP+Compatibility
« on: 21 March 2002, 04:44 »
Alright i've been running XP for two months and Mandrake Linux for about a month now. Xp hasn't crashed once or expierenced any problems with any programs. I doubt XP even has a BSOD. Most of my hardware was auto-detected at setup and the entire installation took less than an hour. It was very user-friendly and required almost no information at all. It practically installed itself. I then installed mandrake on a different partition and it turns out that there aren't any drivers for my intel modem. Altogether windows XP has treated me kindly and hasn't encountered any problems yet. Another plus is the windowsupdate feature - you can get updates on your drivers and on the system very easily... very useful. So XP is stable, compatible, and easy to get upgrades for. Despite its creator - it is definately worth the money i spent on it (99$) and i would reccomend it.

psyjax

• VIP
  • Kudos: 55
XP+Compatibility
« Reply #1 on: 21 March 2002, 04:53 »
It's loaded with spyware, keeps track of it's users. Has one of the worlds most tyranical corprations behind it, and is bloated beyond belife. That's why people don't like it.

If you don't mind the fact that you are exposing yourself tp becoming a Microserf as your own OS begins to spy on you and force you into a perpetual upgrade cycle of not only the OS but the software it forces you to use, then have fun!

Personaly if I had to use a wondoze I would use an earlyer version without all the liberal EULA BS. Windoze 2k comes to mind.

But then again, despite even these short comings, wondoze just generaly sux usage and experience-wise.

I love OS X! wooo...

[ March 20, 2002: Message edited by: psyjax ]

Psyjax! I RULEZZZZ!!! HAR HAR HAR

LukeHashJ

XP+Compatibility
« Reply #2 on: 21 March 2002, 05:14 »