Author Topic: Distro help. Please?  (Read 4589 times)

Dark_Me

• Kudos: 314
Distro help. Please?
« on: 24 October 2005, 17:09 »
Newbie here...
Okay the basics.
I am running on:
Intel Celeron Pentium 4 with 2.3 Ghz
                212 Mb of RAM
                3 hard drives, 17 GB, 17 GB,39 GB
                Only onboard graphics so far :(
This is just for basic home use, nothing fancy or too taxing. Just surfing the net mostly.
I took the Linux Distribution Choser test and got:
Mandriva
                                                    PCLinuxOS
                                                    Linspire
                                                    Xandros
Don't really need a live disc, I do however need dual boot and GUI.
I also need to run Windows programs. Hmm... wine mabey?
As an ending note I would just like to say that I'm a complete noob when it come's to Linux so I need something that's easy to use. I realize that this is one of the flaws (thinking of the average comp user) in Linux but well I can dream can't I?
Oh and Hi!
And since this is a anti-Microsoft forum... Down with Microsoft! All hail er... something else.
« Last Edit: 24 October 2005, 17:19 by Dark_Me »
Capitalism kicks ass.
-Skyman
If your a selfish, self-centred prick, who is willing to leave half the world in poverty, then yes.
-Kintaro

Dark_Me

Re: Distro help. Please?
« Reply #1 on: 24 October 2005, 17:31 »
Oh and I should probably mention that I have no problem with learning GNU/Linux, it's just that I don't know it. Some resources on the matter would be greatly appreciated.
Capitalism kicks ass.
-Skyman
If your a selfish, self-centred prick, who is willing to leave half the world in poverty, then yes.
-Kintaro

Jenda

• Kudos: 326
« Reply #2 on: 24 October 2005, 18:27 »