Author Topic: advice for linux newbie  (Read 6238 times)

skakillers

• Kudos: 10
advice for linux newbie
« on: 1 March 2005, 18:55 »
i am a newbie to linux, and i have tried Fedora core 1, but it sort of screwed up my computer. i want to rid my computer of the scourge that is bill gates and microsoft, but im unsure of a good distro for a noob like me.
the remote is my friend

Refalm

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 704
  • Sjembek!
    • RADIOKNOP
Re: advice for linux newbie
« Reply #1 on: 1 March 2005, 21:55 »
Well, I would recommend Mandrakelinux or SuSE for absolute newbies.

Calum

• Global Moderator
  • Kudos: 1000
    • Calum Carlyle's music
« Reply #2 on: 1 March 2005, 22:24 »
or just keep reinstalling fedora and fiddling with it until you get it "good".
visit http://voidmain.kicks-ass.net/ for more red hat/fedora tips, there's a lot of useful info and a discussion board there which is more red hat/fedora oriented than any other type of linux.

one thing: remember to have your /home directory on its own partition, this way, when you overwrite your / partition, your documents in /home will be untouched. you will have to redo your users, and chown the /home/ directories back to their right owner (perhaps) after your new system is installed, but at least you don't lose any of your configuration.

also, i often find that different version numbers and so on might make your config files (usually in the /home/ directory) do unpredictable things if you install for example SuSE when you had mandrake before and so on. so for example, if i had a problem with gaim after changing my distro, the first thing i would do is delete the /home/calum/.gaim directory.

anyway, i will shut up now in case i frighten you away, but never mind, that's my advice.

good luck, and enjoy.
visit these websites and make yourself happy forever:
It's my music! | My music on MySpace | Integrational Polytheism

skakillers

« Reply #3 on: 2 March 2005, 01:09 »